Texas A&M hosts Texas Systems Day

On Friday, March 28, Texas A&M University has the pleasure of hosting “Texas Systems Day” at Rudder Tower. This workshop brings together researchers from universities around the state in the fields of systems, controls and robotics. It is planned to make this an annual event with locale rotating among the universities.

The plenary speaker is Professor Jessy Grizzle of the University of Michigan, who will discuss the subject of underactuated 3D walking by robots. There will also be a panel discussion on the topic, “Future Directions in Systems, Control & Robotics.”

Other talks include, “Translational Control Design for Lower-Limb Prosthetics and Orthotics: Lessons from Robot Locomotion,” by Professor Robert Gregg from the mechanical engineering and biological engineering department at UT Dallas, “Multiscale Robotics and Control: from Microns and Milimeters to Human Size,” by Professor Dan Popa from the electrical engineering department at Next Generation Systems lab and UT Arlington Research Institute, and “Architectures for Learning and Representation in Robotics,” by Professor Mohan Sridharan from the computer science department at Texas Tech University.

Texas A&M also will have two professors giving presentations, Professor Bryan Rasmussen from the mechanical engineering department will present, “Distributed Control of Building Energy Systems,” and Professor Raktim Bhattacharya from the aerospace engineering department will present “Computational Uncertainty in Cyber Physical Systems.”

To conclude the day, there will be a poster presentation and reception in room 110 of the Koldus building.

The steering committee of the conference consists of Professor P. R. Kumar, Texas A&M, Dean Mark Spong of the College of Engineering at the University of Texas, Dallas and Professor Ari Arapostathis of The University of Texas, Austin. Bhattacharya serves as the chair of the 2014 organizational committee, with members consisting of professors Steve Yurkovich from UT Dallas, Kamesh Subbarao from UT Arlington, Beibei Ren from Texas Tech, Fathi Ghorbel from Rice and Ari Arapostathis from UT Austin.