Aerospace Graduate Students Win in National Best Paper Competition

Best Paper WinnersFour graduate students from the Department of Aerospace Engineering at Texas A&M University were selected for best paper awards at the 37th Annual American Astronautical Society’s Guidance, Navigation and Control Conference held in Breckenridge, CO January 31 – February 5, 2014.

The papers were selected by a committee composed of university, industry, and government judges.

Dylan Conway, a 2nd year PhD student, Brent Macomber, a 4th year PhD student and Kurt Cavalieri, a 5th year PhD student, were awarded Best Paper First Prize for their paper titled “Vision-Based Relative Navigation Filter for Asteroid Rendezvous” written with Dr. John Junkins.  First place comes with a framed certificate and a cash prize of $1,000.

Robyn Woollands, a 2nd year PhD student, was awarded Best Paper Second Prize for her paper titled “A New Solution for the General Lambert Problem” written with Dr. John Junkins.  Second place comes with a framed certificate and a $500 cash prize.

Dr. John Junkins said, “I am so proud of these four stellar graduate students who just had a wonderful recognition of their papers and presentations, as judged by professionals in their field. These exceptional individuals are ambassadors that represent the face of the excellence that is our program in aerospace engineering at Texas A&M University.”