Upsilon Pi Epsilon Welcomes New Officers

First started in 1967, Upsilon Pi Epsilon is the first and only international honor society for the computing and information disciplines. It was established at Texas A&M University by Dr. Dan Drew, professor emeritus and former division head of computer science. Dr. Drew was the principal advisor to the six computer science students who are credited with the founding of UPE.

The mission of Upsilon Pi Epsilon is to equip undergraduate and graduate students for success in all endeavors such as academics as well as their future professions. The students organize presentations from every conceivable specialization in computer science and computer engineering including both internship and employment opportunities as well as advanced technical talks covering unconventional topics. They also organize social events forming a sense of community within their organization.

Announced as the new President for the upcoming Spring 2014 semester is Larry Clayton Powell Jr. Vice-President is Jayme Krepps; Treasurer is Steven Schroeder; Corporate Relations Chair is Tyler Biehle; Webmaster is Ricardo Andres Zavala; and Social and Service Event Coordinator is Nicholas Hanemann. Announced undergraduate advisors are Andrew Koons, Christopher Lowetz, and Janice Rosado. Graduate advisors are Harshvardhan and Raniero Lara-Garduno.

Since its establishment, Upsilon Pi Epsilon has grown to over 200 chapters worldwide. UPE seeks to support the community in and around Texas A&M by being involved in service events, while also assisting with volunteer positions for the Department of Computer Science and Engineering.

More information on the Texas A&M chapter of UPE is available at