Briaud invited to give Osterberg Memorial Lecture

Photo of Dr. Jean-Louis BriaudDr. Jean-Louis Briaud, the Spencer J. Buchanan Chair in the Zachry Department of Civil Engineering at Texas A&M University, has been invited to give the coveted Osterberg Memorial Lecture at the Deep Foundation Institute Annual Congress this Summer.

The annual Osterberg Memorial Lecture and Award was established in honor of Dr. Jorj O. Osterberg, one of the true pioneers of geotechnical engineering, to recognize innovations in the deep foundations construction related to engineering design, testing or education; all aspects of Jorj Osterberg’s lifelong contributions. Osterberg has long been recognized for his innovations in soil sampling and testing (including his inventions: the Osterberg Sampler and the Osterberg Cell). Osterberg enjoyed a long and distinguished career as a teacher and consultant; he was professor Emeritus of Civil Engineering at Northwestern University.

The Memorial Lecture and Award are presented at a fundraising dinner to benefit the DFI Educational Trust Scholarship Fund.

Earlier this year, Briaud received the Aytaliev Honorable Medal of Kazakhstan, the highest honor bestowed upon a geotechnical engineer by Kazakhstan. This was Briaud's third international award, along with the G. Geoffrey Meyerhof Award from Canada and his election to the Russian Academy of Natural Sciences.

Briaud is president of ISSMGE, the International Society for Soil Mechanics and Geotechnical Engineering, the preeminent professional body representing the interests and activities of engineers, academics and contractors all over the world who actively participate in geotechnical engineering.

Briaud received his master's and Ph.D. degrees in geotechnical engineering in Canada and joined the Texas A&M faculty in 1978. He is registered professional engineer and a member of several professional societies including the ASCE, American Society of Testing Materials, and the International Society of Soil Mechanics and Foundational Engineering. He has been honored several times for his pioneering work on soil erosion, bridge scour and numerous contributions to the field of geotechnical engineering.