Computer science's Daugherity to head Faculty Senate

Photo of Dr. Walter DaugherityDr. Walter C. Daugherity, senior lecturer in the Department of Computer Science and Engineering and the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, officially transitioned from speaker-elect to speaker of the Texas A&M Faculty Senate May 13.

Daugherity received a bachelor's degree from Oklahoma Christian University, and master's and doctoral degrees from Harvard University, and has been a member of the Texas A&M faculty since 1987. In addition to research and publication he has been very active in creating and upgrading courses, especially in the Honors Program. He developed the Honors sections of Introduction to Program Design and Concepts, Data Structures, Artificial Intelligence, and Ethics and Engineering, and has been the adviser for six senior Honors theses.

He has received numerous honors and awards, including Harvard's Bowdoin Prize, ACM's Outstanding Regional Intercollegiate Programming Contest Director award, the CSE Department's Undergraduate Faculty Award, and the Outstanding Graduate Faculty Award from the Graduate Student Council. In 2003 the A&M System named him to its Academy for Educator Development, a major component in the Regents' Initiative for Excellence in Education. (Only two faculty members in the Dwight Look College of Engineering were selected.)

The Faculty Senate is the sole body elected by all Texas A&M faculty, whom it is charged with representing in the governance of the university. Specifically, all university policies dealing with curricula and instruction, academic standards, scholarships, hiring and retention, and so on, must be reviewed by the Faculty Senate before being presented to the president. Visit the Faculty Senate website at for more information.