NSF awards graduate fellowships to Texas A&M engineering students

The National Science Foundation has awarded three-year graduate fellowships to several Texas A&M University engineering students and recognized others with honorable mentions.

Students annually receive up to $10,500 for tuition and fees to the school of their choice, plus a $30,000 stipend for living expenses. The NSF Graduate Fellowships are competitive; only 1,000 are given from a pool of more than 3,000 applications.

Fellowship recipients who received their undergraduate degrees from Texas A&M and will continue their graduate degrees at Texas A&M are Jory London Denny, computer science and engineering; Candice Marie Haase, biomedical engineering; Landon Daniel Nash, biomedical engineering; Cherish Christony Vance, biological and agricultural engineering; and Timothy Daniel Woodbury, aerospace engineering.

Additionally, eight Texas A&M Engineering graduates who will pursue graduate degrees elsewhere also received fellowships: Katherine Christine Stuckman, electrical engineering (Massachusetts Institute of Technology); Grigoryan Bagrat, biomedical engineering (University of California, San Diego); Cynthia Marie Castro, civil engineering (University of Texas at Austin); Kaila Morgen Bertsch, materials (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign); and Richard Joseph Hendrick, mechanical engineering (Vanderbilt University).

Two students from other universities -- Andrew Arthur Springall, computer science and engineering (University of Alabama) and Stephanie Lynn Valentine, computer science and engineering (Saint Mary's University of Minnesota) -- will pursue graduate degrees at Texas A&M.

Aggies receiving honorable mentions and who plan to pursue graduate engineering studies at Texas A&M are Brian Bass, electrical engineering; Trevor John Bennett, aerospace engineering; Christie Michelle Bergerson, biomedical engineering; and Matthew Christopher Johnson, electrical engineering.

Aggie honorable mention recipients who plan to pursue graduate studies elsewhere wereHaron Abdel-Raziq, electrical engineering (University of California, Berkeley); Michael Clinton Koetting, chemical engineerirg (University of Texas at Austin); and Jeehyun Park, biomedical engineering (University of Texas at Austin).

Three students from other universities -- Ralph W. Crosby, computer engineering, California Polytechnic Statue University; Dariya Konstantinovna Reid, chemical engineering, University of Texas at Austin; and Ana Ysabel Rioja, biomedical engineering, University of South Florida -- received honorable mention and are pursuing graduate studies at Texas A&M.

Finally, three students who earned bachelor's degrees from other universities and received honorable mentions are pursuing graduate studies at Texas A&M: Scott Preson Mattison, biomedical engineering (Clemson University); Dylan Taylor Conway, aerospace engineering (SUNY at Buffalo); and Pauline Thuy Luong, biomedical engineering (University of California, Berkeley).

The Graduate Research Fellowship Program (GRFP) recognizes and supports outstanding graduate students in NSF-supported science, technology, engineering, and mathematics disciplines who are pursuing research-based master's and doctoral degrees in the United States and abroad.

NSF Fellows are expected to become knowledge experts who can contribute significantly to research, teaching and innovations in science and engineering. These individuals, states the NSF Web site, will be crucial to maintaining and advancing the nation's technological infrastructure and national security as well as contributing to the economic well-being of society at large.

Students apply for the graduate fellowships before or during their first year of graduate study. Students can choose to attend any university in the United States or an affiliate with a foreign institution.

The NSF is an independent federal agency that supports science and engineering research and education. NSF funds reach all 50 states through grants to more than 2,000 universities and institutions nationwide.