Schaub and Junkins win AIAA Martin Summerfield Book Award

Photos of Dr. Hanspeter Schaub and Dr. John JunkinsDr. Hanspeter Schaub and Dr. John Junkins have been named recipients of the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) Martin Summerfield Book Award for their textbook, Analytical Mechanics of Space Systems, 2nd Edition.
Schaub is a graduate of the Department of Aerospace Engineering at Texas A&M University. Junkins is a Distinguished Professor, Regents Professor and holder of the Royce E. Wisenbaker '39 Chair I. He is a member of the National Academy of Engineering and a registered professional engineer.

The Summerfield Book Award is named in honor of Dr. Martin Summerfield, founder and initial editor of the Progress in Astronautics and Aeronautics series of books published by the AIAA. The award is presented to the author of the best book recently published (within the last five years) by the AIAA.
Junkins and Schaub received this award Jan. 8 at the 51st AIAA Aerospace Sciences Meeting in Grapevine, Texas.