Society of Petroleum Engineers recognizes three Texas A&M faculty

The Society of Petroleum Engineers has honored three Texas A&M engineering faculty members for their editorial efforts.

Dr. Ding Zhu, Dr. Dan Hill and Dr. Duane McVay were recognized at the society's Annual Technical Conference and Exhibition in October in San Antonio.

Photo of Dr. Ding ZhuZhu received an award for Outstanding Service in 2012 in recognition for her excellence as an associate editor on SPE peer-reviewed scholarly journals. Zhu is an associate professor and the W.D. Von Gonten Faculty Fellow in Petroleum Engineering. She earned bachelor's and master's degrees from Beijing University of Science & Technology (China), and a second master's and Ph.D. degrees from The University of Texas at Austin.

Her areas of expertise are in integrated sandstone acidizing design and evaluation; real-time evaluation of acidizing process; modeling of acidizing process in naturally fractured carbonate reservoirs; acid fracturing; high-concentration HF acidizing in sandstone reservoirs; integrated production-log interpretation by statistical approach; horizontal-well stimulation; well performance of multilateral wells; horizontal-well completion model; economic model of intelligent wells; and intelligent-well model.

Zhu has conducted and supervised research projects in production and well stimulation and led in complex well performance. She has been a key researcher for a state-funded project in sandstone acidizing and a U.S. Department of Energy-funded project in intelligent well technology. She has developed several comprehensive computer software applications for production engineering, many of which have been adopted by industry sponsors. She developed the production engineering software package, PPS, which has been widely used in teaching and in the field worldwide.

Hill and McVay received Outstanding Tech­nical Editor Awards for their exceptional effort as technical editors to ensure the excellence of the SPE Production & Op­erations and Journal of Canadian Petroleum Technology, respectively.

Photo of Dr. Dan HillHill is a professor, holder of the Noble Chair and interim head in the Harold Vance Department of Petroleum Engineering. He is an expert in the areas of production engineering, well completions, well stimulation, production logging, and complex well performance (horizontal and multilateral wells). He has presented lectures and courses and consulted on these topics throughout the world. He has also been a Society of Petroleum Engineers (SPE) Distinguished Lecturer, has served on numerous SPE committees and was founding chairman of the Austin SPE Section. He was named a Distinguished Member of SPE in 1999 and received the SPE Production and Operations Award in 2008. He currently serves on the SPE Editorial Review Committee and is chairman for the SPE Hydraulic Fracturing Technology Conference.

He is the author of the Society of Petroleum Engineering (SPE) monograph, Production Logging: Theoretical and Interpretive Elements; co-author of the textbook, Petroleum Production Systems and an SPE book, Multilateral Wells; and author of more than 130 technical papers and five patents. Hill earned a bachelor's degree from Texas A&M, and master's and Ph.D. degrees from the University of Texas as Austin, all in chemical engineering.

Photo of Dr. Duane McvayMcVay, holder of the Rob L. Adams '40 Professorship, joined the department in August 1999. Previously, he spent 16 years with S.A. Holditch & Associates, a petroleum engineering consulting firm. His research interests include reservoir simulation, uncertainty quantification, integrated reservoir characterization and management, project evaluation,  and unconventional resources.

McVay is a Distinguished Member of the Society of Petroleum Engineers. He has more than 28 refereed publications and 55 conference papers to his credit. He earned bachelor's, master's and Ph.D. degrees in petroleum engineering from Texas A&M.