Former student joins DOE Criticality Safety Support Group

Photo of Mikey Brady-RappCriticality safety expert Michaele C. "Mikey" Brady-Rapp '81 from the Pacific Northwest National Laboratory has been appointed a member of the U.S. Department of Energy's Criticality Safety Support Group (CSSG). 

Brady-Rapp earned bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees in nuclear engineering from Texas A&M University.

She was selected for her exceptional experience and knowledge, which includes 25 years of related experience. She has provided technical and operational support of the criticality safety and nuclear engineering needs for NNSA and DOE related to waste tank storage and the transportation, storage, and disposal of commercial spent nuclear fuel.

Mikey has been an invited lecturer and consultant for International Atomic Energy Agency meetings and training courses.  She is also a member of several Nuclear Energy Agency organizations, including serving as chair of the Working Party on Nuclear Criticality Safety and chair of the Expert Group on Burnup Credit Criticality. She is an active participant in the American Nuclear Society’s Nuclear Criticality Safety Division, serving on its executive committee and as chair from 2002 to 2003. There she received the division’s Distinguished Service Award, recognizing her “outstanding leadership in the division governance, international studies, and division conferences.”

The CSSG supports the DOE Nuclear Criticality Safety Program by providing operational and technical expertise involving experiments, nuclear data, methods, training, organizational structures, and criticality safety evaluations. As a CSSG member, Brady-Rapp will provide technical support to DOE missions including stockpile stewardship, materials stabilization, transportation, storage, facilities decommissioning, and waste disposal.