Valko appointed holder of Robert Whiting Chair in petroleum engineering

ValkoDr. M. Katherine Banks, vice chancellor and dean of engineering, has appointed Dr. Peter Valko holder of the Robert Whiting Chair in the Harold Vance Department of Petroleum Engineering.

Valko came to Texas A&M in 1993 as a visiting associate professor and visiting research scientist. In 2001 he became an associate professor at Texas A&M and in 2006 he became a full professor.

Prior to coming to Texas A&M he was an assistant professor at the Institute of Drilling Production, Mining University Leoben in Austria. He has also been a research scientist at the Hungarian Hydrocarbon Institute in Budapest, Hungary, as well as an assistant and associate professor in the Chemical Cybernetics Department at Eötvös Loránd University in Budapest.

Valko’s research interests include design and evaluation of hydraulic fracture simulation treatments; rheology of fracturing fluids; performance of advance and stimulated wells; modeling, identification and optimization including the underlying numerical techniques; and numerical laplace transform inversion.

Valko is a member of the Society of Petroleum Engineers, and was named the ConocoPhillips Fellow of the Texas A&M Engineering program in 2006.