Chemical engineering honors spring 2012 graduates

Chibueze Amanchukwu receiving outstanding senior awardSelect students from the Artie McFerrin Department of Chemical Engineering at Texas A&M University have been recognized as distinguished members of their Spring 2012 graduating class.

At a reception honoring the department's spring graduates, Chibueze Amanchukwu was named recipient of the department's Outstanding Graduating Senior Award.

In addition, Eric Yang was named recipient of the 2012 Senior Award from the RHO Chapter of Omega Chi Epsilon, the national honor society for chemical engineering.

Also honored at the graduate reception were student recipients of the Chemical Engineering Excellence Spring 2012 Senior Award. Those students are Stephen Davis, Matthew Gerich, Andrew Schaaf and Timothy Slinginger.

“These students are graduating with a degree in what is arguably the toughest major at this university – a degree that is important today and a degree that will be increasingly important in the future,” said Professor and Interim Department Head Charles Glover, addressing the students and their families in attendance at the reception.

In addition, winners of the department's Spring 2012 Plant Design Competitionreceived their awards. Ryan Mathews, Cristina Muko, Randy Nelson, Stephen Reddin and Amber Trull are members of the team awarded first place by Fluor for its original design of a chemical processing plant.

The competition is part of a senior-level course aimed at preparing students for the types of assignments they're likely to see in a professional environment. In recognition of their achievements, each of the top three teams received honorariums from the Fluor Corporation, the competition's sponsor for this semester.

Original Story