Aerospace engineering senior wins Sigma Gamma Tau region award

Sigma Gamma Tau, the nationalPhoto of Steven Anderson aerospace engineering honor society, has awarded Texas A&M senior Steven Anderson with the 2012 Southwest Region Award.

This prestigious award honors Anderson as being one of the top seven outstanding Aerospace Engineering seniors in the United States, based upon his academic, service, and extracurricular accomplishments.  The honorarium is in the form of a check for $250 and a plaque documenting his award.  In addition, a brass nameplate will be installed on the department's Sigma Gamma Tau Award perpetual plaque.

The Sigma Gamma Tau undergraduate awards serve to select outstanding aerospace engineering students at both the regional and national levels, to recognize the accomplishments of these young students as they start their professional careers. Texas A&M is a member of the Southwest Region, which also includes the University of Oklahoma, Oklahoma State University, the University of Texas at Arlington, and the University of Texas at Austin.

The Texas A&M University chapter of Sigma Gamma Tau is tied with the Purdue University chapter for having the most national winners all time with five each. The national winners are designated as the top aerospace engineering senior in the United States for that year. The most recent Texas A&M national winners were Joseph E. Bishop (1989), John Michael Fife (1992) and Justin Wilkerson (2009).

Formed in 1957, Sigma Gamma Tau seeks to identify and recognize achievement and excellence in the aerospace field. The society's collegiate chapters elect annually to membership those students, alumni and professionals who, by conscientious attention to their studies or professional duties, uphold this high standard for the betterment of their profession. Texas A&M is a charter member of Sigma Gamma Tau, and 683 students have been initiated since 1957. This spring, 33 undergraduate and graduate students were initiated.