Aggie engineers named 2012 Distinguished Alumni

Aggie engineers Tommie E. Lohman and Lloyd H. Hughes are among the 12 recipients of the Texas A&M University 2012 Distinguished Alumnus Award.

Texas A&M and The Association of Former Students announced the recipients March 28. They are:

  • Donald A. Adam, Class of 1957, of Bryan, Texas;
  • Bob J. Surovik, Class of 1958, of Abilene, Texas;
  • Tommie E. Lohman, Class of 1959; and
  • General Hal M. Hornburg (USAF, Ret), Class of 1968, of Fair Oaks Ranch, Texas.

Texas A&M University and The Association of Former Students also recognize eight recipients posthumously including the seven Aggies recognized with the Medal of Honor.

  • Dr. Robert V. Walker, Class of 1945

Congressional Medal of Honor Awardees

  • George D. Keathley, Class of 1937;
  • Horace S. Carswell, Jr., Class of 1938;
  • Eli L. Whiteley, Class of 1941;
  • Turney W. Leonard, Class of 1942;
  • Thomas W. Fowler, Class of 1943;
  • William G. Harrell, Class of 1943; and
  • Lloyd H. Hughes, Class of 1943.

Established in 1962, the Distinguished Alumnus Award is the highest honor bestowed upon a former student of Texas A&M University. Since its inception, 216 individuals have been recognized for their significant contributions to their professions, Texas A&M and their local communities.

“Each day, I am reminded of the power of our Aggie Network with its worldwide reach,” said Texas A&M President R. Bowen Loftin, Class of 1971. “And each day, I am also thankful for the efforts of individual former students such as these, who so generously give of their time, expertise and other resources to help propel Texas A&M to be among the nation’s top public universities, while also making their mark as leaders in their professions and communities. They are truly role models for all Aggies.”

The recipients learned of their honor when surprised in their places of business and other locations by a group of university and Association representatives, including Loftin; The Association of Former Students’ 2012 Chair of the Board of Directors Otway Denny, Class of 1971; Association President and CEO Porter S. Garner III, Class of 1979; Association Vice President Marty Holmes, Class of 1987; a Ross Volunteer, along with Reveille and her handler.

The Association of Former Students will further honor all recipients of this award and celebrate the 50th anniversary of the Distinguished Alumnus Award during its annual Distinguished Alumni Gala Sept. 21. In addition, the 2012 recipients will be recognized during the Texas A&M football game against South Carolina State Sept. 22.

Photo of Lloyd H. HughesLloyd H. Hughes, Class of 1943, studied petroleum engineering at the Agricultural & Mechanical College of Texas. He had a brief stint at Corpus Christi Junior College (now Del Mar College) before returning to A&M in 1941, but resigned to assist his family the same year.

He enlisted as an aviation cadet in 1942 in the wake of the Japanese bombing of Pearl Harbor. After completing the training courses, Hughes received his wings and commission as a second lieutenant. In 1943 he was assigned to the 564th Heavy Bombardment Squadron, 389th Heavy Bombardment Group at Lowry Field, Colo. The group moved to Europe, and then Benghazi, Libya, where the attack against the Axis oil refineries of Ploesti, Romania was launched. Hughes flew in the last formation at dangerously low altitude, and his plane received several direct hits that seriously damaged his aircraft. He continued to approach the target area, Steaua Romana oil refinery in Campina, with full knowledge of the consequences he faced, with his plane leaking oil and the ground ablaze. He continued to bomb the target area with great precision, even after the left wing of his plane caught on fire. He was the first Texas Aggie awarded the Medal of Honor.

Hughes was married to Hazel Dean Ewing. He passed away Aug. 1, 1943.

Tommie E. Lohman, Class of 1959, earned a bachelor of science degree in petroleumPhoto of Tommie E. Lohmanengineering from the Agricultural & Mechanical College of Texas and worked toward a doctor of jurisprudence degree at South Texas School. While at Texas A&M, he was first lieutenant “B”-AAA in the Corps of Cadets and a Ross Volunteer. He was a member of Tau Beta Phi, the engineering honor society, as well as AIME Petroleum Engineering Club and Shreveport Hometown Club.

Lohman began his career as a petroleum engineer at Amoco Production Corporation in 1958. In 1962, he moved to Texas Oil & Gas Corporation, where he worked his way up from a district engineer to manager of Gas Gathering & Processing, while concurrently serving on the Board of Directors and president of the Delhi Gas Pipeline until 1988. The same year, he founded Taurus Energy Corporation, and a year later founded TELCO Investments.

He received the Outstanding Alumni Award from the Dwight Look College of Engineering in 2004 and the honor of Distinguished Graduate from the Harold Vance Department of Petroleum Engineering in 2002. He was a member of the Independent Petroleum Association of America, served as vice president and director of the Gas Processors Association, and was an inducted into the Hall of Honor by Texas A&M Lettermen’s Association in 2010.

Lohman endowed the Tommie E. Lohman Laboratory for Gas Engineering, established the Carolyn S. and Tommie E. Lohman ’59 Professorship in Engineering Education and an Engineering Graduate Fellowship, funded the “Shaping the Future” statue at the College of Education, and was instrumental in establishing the Lohman Learning Community in the College of Education. He was involved in several organizations, including the Engineering Advisory Council, Chancellor’s Advisory Council, College of Engineering External Advisory and Development Council, A&M Legacy Society and Texas Aggie Bar Association. A long-time Endowed Century Club member, he served as past president of the 12th Man Foundation, as well as the executive committee.

He was active in his church, serving as a deacon and Sunday school teacher at Richardson Baptist Church and Fallswood Baptist Church for twenty years combined. Lohman and his wife, Carolyn, had two daughters and lived in College Station. He passed away Feb. 4, 2012.

The full list of recipients, as well as their photos and bios, is available online.