Searcy named head of Department of Biological and Agricultural Engineering

Dr. Stephen W. Searcy has been named head of thePhoto of Dr. Stephen W. Searcybiological and agricultural engineering department at Texas A&M University.

“The Department of Biological and Agricultural Engineering is recognized as a leader in our discipline,” Searcy said. “I am honored to be asked to lead the efforts of my colleagues to maintain and extend that reputation.”

Searcy has served as interim department head since the previous department head, Dr. Gary Riskowski, returned to a full-time faculty position in September 2010. Before becoming the interim head, Searcy served as associate department head.

The Department of Biological and Agricultural Engineering is part of both the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences and the Dwight Look College of Engineering at Texas A&M.

Searcy has been recognized by his peers for his research on precision agriculture. He received several American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers Paper and Blue Ribbon Extension Aids awards. A 28-year member of the society, Searcy was named a Fellow in 2008. In 2009, he was elected treasurer.

Searcy earned two bachelor’s degrees, one in agricultural mechanization and another in agricultural engineering, and a master’s degree in agricultural mechanization from the University of Missouri. He earned a doctorate in agricultural engineering from Oklahoma State University.

He has been on the Texas A&M faculty since 1980. In addition to his current administrative responsibilities, Searcy has conducted research on intelligent machine systems for agriculture, with an emphasis on bioenergy logistics, cotton engineering, and precision agriculture. He also has conducted Texas AgriLife Extension Service programs focused on precision agriculture technology adoption and has taught courses on electronic and machine systems, information systems, design and research.

Searcy is a registered professional engineer in Texas and a member of the National Society of Professional Engineers and the Council for Agricultural Science and Technology.