Petroleum engineering hosts annual Student Paper Contest this weekend

The Harold Vance Department of Petroleum Engineering at Texas A&M University will host its annual Student Paper Contest on Saturday (Jan. 28).

Junior, senior and graduate petroleum engineering student swill give technical presentations before panels of industry judges. This year, 401 students will compete in 24 sessions before 107 judges. Runoffs will be held Feb. 4 to determine who will represent the university at the SPE Gulf Coast Section Regional Competition hosted by Louisiana State University April 20-21.

The objective of the local contest is to help students develop proficiency in the presentation of technical or research projects orally and in written form. Aggie petroleum students have an impressive record of going on to win at the Gulf Coast Section Regional level as well as at the Society of Petroleum Engineers International level -- more than any other university. Many of the department's former students and industrial supporters regard the local contest as one of the most important professional development opportunities for students.

This in-house event originated in the early 1970s by Dr. Dick Morse and was further developed in the mid 1970’s by Dr. John Lee into the competition it is today. Dr. Duane McVay is the current director of the contest.

Industry support continues to be strong for this competition with company and individual donations totaling $55,225 this year: 

Platinum level ($5,000 or more)

  • BP
  • Schlumberger

Gold level ($2,500-$4,999)

  • Approach Resources Inc.
  • Chesapeake Energy
  • Concho Resources
  • ConocoPhillips
  • ExxonMobil
  • LINN Energy
  • Marathon Oil
  • Newfield Exploration
  • Shell
  • Southwestern Energy
  • Statoil

Silver level ($1,000-$2,499)

  • Chevron
  • Denbury Resources
  • Empresa Energy
  • Environmental Friendly Drilling
  • Mark Franki ′80
  • Fritz Industries, Inc.
  • Hunting Titan
  • Doug Pollak ′80
  • Unconventional Gas Resources, LLC
  • V&M USA Corp
  • Jim Wilkes ′78
  • Fred Ziehe ′74

Bronze level ($25-$999)

  • Apache
  • Kola Ayeni ′08
  • Maria Barrufet
  • Peter Bazin ′08
  • Aaron Clark ′09
  • Andrew Coleman ′96
  • Clinton Gerst ′85
  • Russell Greco ′10
  • Elijio Guzman ′97
  • Hilcorp Energy Company
  • Alex Hinn ′11
  • Namit Jaiswal ′07
  • Alexsandra Martinez ′11
  • Dennis Moore ′79
  • Johnny Rau ′85
  • Samson Resources
  • SPE – Balcones Section
  • SPE – Dallas Section
  • Robert S. Spiller ′71

The money raised for the contest is used to cover the costs of running the competition and for awarding student grants for first-, second- and third-place winners. The event will close with an award dinner.