Renowned scholar Kumar joins electrical and computer engineering department

Photo of Dr. P.R. KumarRenowned scholar Dr. P.R. Kumar has joined the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at Texas A&M University this fall.

Kumar is a professor and holds the College of Engineering Chair in Computer Engineering.

"We are extremely excited to have an internationally known scholar of Dr. Kumar's caliber join our department," said Dr. Costas Georghiades, head of the electrical and computer engineering department. "His joining our department will be a tremendous benefit to our students, undergraduate and graduate, both directly through his classroom instruction and mentoring and indirectly through the added visibility to our department.

Kumar, a member of the National Academy of Engineering (NAE), was formerly the Franklin W. Woeltge Professor and a researcher in the Coordinated Science Lab of the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. He has made groundbreaking contributions that have helped to shape industrial practice and research in both semiconductor manufacturing and wireless networking. He has distinguished himself in both research and education in the field of systems, which includes control, communications and computing.

He has a Bachelor of Technology degree in electrical engineering from the Indian Institute of Technology in Madras, and master's and doctoral degrees in systems science and mathematics from Washington University in St. Louis, Mo. Kumar is a Fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE). Other honors include receiving a Distinguished Alumni Achievement Award from Washington University in St. Louis, and being named a Guest Chair Professor and Leader of the Guest Chair Professor Group on Wireless Communication and Networking at Tsinghua University, Beijing, China.

He also is the recipient of the Donald P. Eckman Award, the Engineering Council Award for Excellence in Advising, the IEEE Field Award for Control Systems and the IEEE Communications Society Fred W. Ellersick Prize. He was awarded an honorary doctorate by the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology (Eidgenossische Technische Hochschule) in Zurich and was given the Tau Beta Pi Daniel C. Drucker Eminent Faculty Award from the College of Engineering at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.