Singh wins IEEE PES Technical Committee Prize Paper Award

Photo of Dr. Chanan SinghDr. Chanan Singh, professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at Texas A&M University, won the IEEE Power and Engineering Society Technical Committee Prize Paper Award at the IEEE Power and Energy Society (PES) General Meeting 2011.

Singh, along with Brazilian colleagues Armando Leite da Silva and Reinaldo Fernandez, won the award for their paper, "Generating Capacity Reliability Evaluation Based on Monte Carlo Simulation and Cross-Entropy Methods." The paper appeared in IEEE PES Transactions on Power Systems. Selection for the award is based on the papers published in all IEEE PES Transactionsduring 2010.

In their paper, Singh and his co-authors present a new Monte Carlo simulation (MCS) approach based on cross-entropy (CE) method to evaluate generating capacity reliability (GCR) indices. The basic idea is to use an auxiliary importance sampling density function, whose parameters are obtained from an optimization process that minimizes the computational effort of the MCS estimation approach.

Singh, former department head and Regents Professor, is an IEEE Fellow and is internationally recognized as an expert on the reliability and security of power systems. He joined the Texas A&M faculty in 1978.

Other honors Singh has received include the Merit Award by the Probabilistic Methods Applied to Power Systems (PMAPS) International Society, the IEEE Outstanding Power Engineering Educator Award and the Texas A&M University Association of Former Students' University-level Distinguished Achievement Award for Research. He has previously held the J.W. Runyon, Jr. Professorship II, the Halliburton Professorship and the Dresser Professorship, and the University of Saskatchewan awarded him a D.Sc. in 1998 for his research contributions. In 2010, he was the inaugural recipient of the IEEE-PES Roy Billinton Power System Reliability Award.