Wang selected as Silver Medal Awardee from ASM International

Dr. Haiyan Wang, associate professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at Texas A&M University, has been selected as one of the two inaugural silver medal awardees for ASM International, for her innovative research at the frontier of nanostructured materials and applications, and for her exceptional potential in inspired education and future leadership.Photo of Dr. Haiyan Wang


The ASM Silver Medal award is designed to provide recognition to ASM members who are in mid-career positions for distinguished contributions in the field of materials science & engineering, and the Society. This award irecognizes leadership at an early stage and encourage individuals to grow, nurture and further contribute to the growth of the profession as well as the society.

The award will be presented at a ceremony in October. Dr. Priti Wanjara of the National Research Council of Canada was named the other recipient.

ASM International is one of the largest materials societies in the world. It serves more than 36,000 members, including materials scientists and engineers, nontechnical personnel and managers worldwide.

Wang joined the electrical and computer engineering department in January 2006. Before coming to Texas A&M, she was on the staff of the Los Alamos National Laboratory as a director-funded post-doctoral fellow and a permanent staff member. She holds a Bachelor of Science degree from Nanchang University (China) and a master’s degree from the Institute of Metal Research (China). She received the Ph.D. degree from North Carolina State University in December 2002.

Other honors include the National Science Foundation’s CAREER Award in 2009, the Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE) in 2008, the Office of Naval Research Young Investigator Award in 2008 and the Air Force Research Office’s Young Investigator Research Program (YIP) in 2007.

Her research interests lie in the area of functional oxide and nitride thin films for microelectronics, optoelectronics, high-temperature superconductors, solid oxide fuel cells, solar cells and advanced nuclear reactors. Her expertise is thin-film growth and characterizations.