Department Names Distinguished Alumni

Photo of Rayford G. Anthony, Perry Schwierzke and James Turner

Rayford G. Anthony, Perry Schwierzke and James Turner each has been honored with the title of distinguished alumnus by the Artie McFerrin Department of Chemical Engineering at Texas A&M University.

The three Texas A&M chemical engineering graduates are the newest members of the department's Academy of Distinguished Alumni, which was established in 1995 to recognize outstanding graduates of the department who have significantly contributed to the field of chemical engineering while embodying the virtues of Texas A&M University.

In addition to serving as examples of the standards of excellence associated with a Texas A&M chemical engineering degree, members of the academy actively support and promote the department, college and university through their professional and personal activities.

Professor emeritus and former head of the department of chemical engineering from 1995-2002, Anthony, a 1958 graduate, has led a distinguished career, characterized by both exceptional teaching and research throughout his 45 years at Texas A&M University. He has funded numerous scholarships throughout the department, creating substantial opportunities for aspiring chemical engineering students. He also has contributed to the Class of '58 Gift Fund and the Eternal Aggie Corps of Cadets Endowed Fund. In addition, Anthony has been a Century Club Member of The Association of Former Students for more than 40 years.

With more than 100 presentations, 130 publications and five patents to his credit, Anthony is the co-author of three textbooks with Fundamentals of Chemical Reaction Engineering in its second edition.

Schwierzke, a 1960 graduate, began his career with Celanese Chemical and Plastics Company before transitioning to Exxon Corporation. Throughout his career, he would serve in a variety of management and consulting capacities for major companies across the world, including holding the position of vice president and general manager for International Gas Consulting Inc, based in Houston and project director and consultant to HNG Storage Co. in Houston.

Schwierzke has contributed to a variety of areas across the university, including chemical engineering, the college of engineering, athletics, student affairs, the Corps of Cadets, and the Class of '60 Gift Fund. He also has been a Century Club Member of The Association of Former Students for more than 40 years.

Turner, a 1983 graduate, serves as department manager for process technology for Fluor Corp.'s Houston office. He has overseen a variety of complex projects during his time with Fluor, most recently serving as the process executive director for the $3.5 billion BP Whiting project. A staunch supporter of Texas A&M, Turner serves on the department's advisory council and is involved with the student plant design competition that takes places each semester and is co-sponsored by Fluor.

A Century Club Member of The Association of Former Students for 16 years, Turner has generously supported Texas A&M athletics and chemical engineering education through the C.D. Holland Scholarship Program and the Fluor Endowed Aggie Scholarship Fund.