Texas A&M INFORMS student chapter named "organization of the year"

Texas A&M University's student chapter of INFORMS (Institute for Operations Research and the Management Sciences) was named Organization of the Year for 2010 by Texas A&M University.

The chapter triumphed over more than 700 organizations to receive this honor.

The chapter is being recognized for significant contributions to Texas A&M through their operations, programs and services. Chapter events - which regularly include workshops, seminars, field trips, and social gatherings - are designed to facilitate development of students' communication and presentation skills, with the goal of helping them excel in their courses, internships, and future jobs.

More information can be found at http://informs-sc.tamu.edu.

The chapter wishes to recognize the efforts of faculty advisors Dr. Sila Cetinkaya and Dr. Halit Uster in the Department of Industrial and Systems Engineering, along with recent student officers including Anurag Verma, Abhilasha Katariya, Samyukta Sethuraman, Sangdo Choi, Chia-Yen Lee, Choe Youngjun, Fangfang Wang, Himanshu Thapa, Jiani Li, Karthik Nagarajan, Parijat Sinha, Peter Yu, Dulce Caramelo, Michelle McGaha, Rushil Kapoor, and Laxmi Narayanan.