Buchanan named ASEE president-elect

Dr. Walter Buchanan, department head and J.R. Thompson Endowed Chair Professor in the Department of Engineering Technology and Industrial Distribution at Texas A&M University, has been named president-elect of the American Society for Engineering Education (ASEE).

Buchanan will serve as president-elect for 2011-2012 and then as president for 2012-2013.Photo of Dr. Walter Buchanan

Buchanan was previously honored by the society with its Frederick J. Berger Award and the Distinguished Service Citation, only the ninth time this award had been given in 25 years.

Before arriving at Texas A&M University, Buchanan was professor and director of the School of Engineering Technology at Northeastern University. He was previously professor and dean of Engineering and Industrial Technologies at the Oregon Institute of Technology; associate professor and chair of Engineering Technology and Industrial Studies at Middle Tennessee State University; assistant professor and coordinator of the Electrical Engineering Technology Associate Degree Program at the University of Central Florida; and an assistant professor of electrical engineering technology at Indiana University-Purdue University at Indianapolis.

He has also been an electronics engineer for the Naval Avionics Center; an engineering officer for the U.S. Navy; an aerospace engineer for Boeing Co. and Martin Co., as well as an attorney for the Veteran's Administration in Indianapolis.

Buchanan is a Fellow of ASEE and the National Society of Professional Engineers (NSPE). He is a senior member of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and the Society of Manufacturing Engineers (SME). He is a past member of the Board of Directors of NSPE, and a past chair of the Engineering Technology Council of ASEE and the Professional Engineers in Higher Education of NSPE.

Buchanan has received numerous awards including the ASEE James H. McGraw Award, the NSPE Outstanding Service Award, and the International Conference on Engineering and Computer Education Award.