Silva-Martinez appointed TI Professor

Dr. G. Kemble Bennett, vice chancellor and dean of engineering, has appointed Dr. Jose Silva-Martinez the TI Professor I in Analog Engineering in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at Texas A&M University.

Photo of Dr. Jose Silva-Martinez

This endowed professorship appointment will be effective March 1 and is in recognition of his many accomplishments and future potential.

"Appointments to professorships and chairs are two of the highest honors faculty can receive," said Dr. Costas Georghiades, electrical and computer engineering department head.

Silva-Martinez received his bachelors degree from Universidad Autonoma de Puebla (Mexico) in 1979, his masters from The Instituto Nacional de Astrofisica, Optica y Electronica (INAOE) in 1981 and his Ph.D. from The Katholieke Universiteit Leuven (Belgium) in 1992.

He joined the department in 1999. From 1981 to 1983, he was with the INAOE electrical engineering department where he was involved with switched-capacitor circuit design. In 1983, he joined the Department of Electrical Engineering at the Universidad Autónoma de Puebla, where he remained until 1993. Silva pioneered the graduate program in opto-electronics there in 1992. In 1993, he re-joined the INAOE electronics department and from May 1995 to December 1998, was the head of the electronics department. He was a co-founder of the Ph.D. program on electronics there in 1993.

Silva-Martinez's current field of research is in the design and fabrication of integrated circuits for communication and biomedical application. He co-authored 89 journal papers, more than 150 conference papers, one book and nine book chapters. 11 of these contributions have been listed within the top 100 most-read papers of the month in IEEE overall; one of his papers is the journal's second most-cited paper while another one is within the top 2.2 percent most-cited papers of IEEE TCAS-II.

Silva-Martinez is a Fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers (IEEE) and has served as IEEE CASS vice president Region-9 (1997-1998); as associate editor for IEEE Transactions on Circuits and Systems Part-II (1997-1998 and 2002- 2003); associate editor of IEEE TCAS Part-I (2004-2005 and 2007-2009); and currently serves one the editorial board of six other major journals. He was the inaugural holder of the Texas Instruments Professorship I in Analog Engineering at Texas A&M from 2002 to 2008; received the 2005 Outstanding Professor Award by the department; was co-author of the paper that got the RF-IC 2005 Best Student Paper Award; and was co-recipient of the 1990 European Solid-State Circuits Conference Best Paper Award.