Benzerga, Karpetis awarded Aldridge Professorships

Photo of Dr. Amine Benzerga and Dr. Adonios Karpetis

Dr. G. Kemble Bennett, vice chancellor and dean of engineering, has appointed two aerospace engineering faculty members - Dr. Amine Benzerga and Dr. Adonios Karpetis - holders of the Edward "Pete" Aldridge Jr. '60 Career Development Professorships.

The Aldridge Career Development Professorships are awarded to junior faculty members who have recently achieved tenure and are on their way to establishing distinguished careers. Appointees are chosen based on the faculty members' contributions in areas of research, scholarly activities, building research infrastructure, future potential and value added to the department, teaching, student mentorship and service. Both appointments are three years in length.

Benzerga received his Ph.D. in materials science and engineering in 2000 from Ecole des Mines (France) and was promoted to associate professor with tenure in September 2010. He previously won the NSF CAREER award and has established a very strong research and teaching portfolio since joining Texas A&M University in January of 2004. Benzerga's research falls at the confluence of solid mechanics, material science and condensed matter physics, and concerns the deformation and failure of metals, polymers and composites.

Karpetis received his Ph.D. in mechanical engineering from Yale University in 1998 and was also promoted to associate professor with tenure in September 2010. He has continued his work in the areas of turbulent combustion and micro-combustion. He is focused on developing a state-of-the-art laser diagnostics laboratory relevant to aero-thermo chemistry measurements, which has now started producing state of the art experimental data and will bring prominence to the departmental laboratory facilities in the years to come.

Edward "Pete" Aldridge earned his bachelor's degree in aeronautical engineering from Texas A&M in 1960, and a master's degree from Georgia Tech. He retired from government service and industry in May 2003 after a distinguished career. He was the first recipient of the Aerospace Engineering Distinguished Alumnus Award in 2009 and also received The Association of Former Students Distinguished Alumnus Award the same year. His endowment has generously supported both professorships and numerous undergraduate scholarships within the department.