Chemical engineering graduate students receive fellowships

Four graduate students from the Artie McFerrin Department of Chemical Engineering at Texas A&M University have been recognized with fellowships for their excellence in graduate studies.Xiang Li has been named recipient of the ConocoPhillips Fellowship. Peng He and Seok-Hoon Hong each have been named a recipient of the Paul and Ellen Deisler Fellowship in Chemical Engineering, and Ivan Mantilla has been awarded the Eastman Chemical Engineering Graduate Fellowship from the Eastman Chemical Group.These fellowships are awarded on the basis of scholarly productivity and excellence in graduate studies and are intended to promote enrichment, growth and development in engineering students. Each includes a monetary stipend.The third-largest integrated energy company in the United States, based on market capitalization, oil and natural gas reserves, ConocoPhillips operates in more than 30 countries and employees approximately 29,900 individuals worldwide.The Paul and Ellen Deisler Fellowship in Chemical Engineering was endowed in 2000 by the Deislers as a means of promoting advanced studies in chemical engineering.A World War II veteran, Paul Deisler completed his degree in chemical engineering from Texas A&M in 1948. He earned his doctorate from Princeton in 1952 and then joined Shell Development Company where he led a successful career before retiring in 1986 as vice president for health, safety and environment at Shell Oil's Houston headquarters. He is a distinguished alumnus of both the College of Engineering and the Artie McFerrin Department of Chemical Engineering. His wife, Ellen, is a graduate of the University of Colorado and fellow chemical engineer.Eastman is a Fortune 500 company that manufactures and markets more than 1,200 products that enhance the lives of people around the world. The company provides key differentiated coatings, adhesives, specialty plastics products and is a major supplier of cellulose acetate fibers.