TAMUite wins international Traffic Bowl

From left: Ken Voigt, international past president; team members Philip Dunham, Ben Sperry, Andrew Persyn and Kristopher Ball; Robert Wunderlich, (international vice president); Gene Hawkins (chapter adviser); and Tom Brahms, ITE executive director.A team of four Zachry Department of Civil Engineering students representing the Texas A&M Student Chapter of the Institute of Transportation Engineers (ITE) has placed first in the International Collegiate Traffic Bowl in Vancouver, British Columbia.The Traffic Bowl tested the students' knowledge of traffic-related subjects such as traffic control devices, highway design and other topics in a Jeopardy!-style format.The Texas A&M ITE Student Chapter team included doctoral student Ben Sperry and master's students Kristopher Ball (chapter president), Philip Dunham and Andrew Persyn.The Texas A&M earned the spot in the national contest by winning the Texas district contest in January. The Texas A&M ITE chapter was also named the ITE Texas District 2010 Outstanding Student Chapter.