Three faculty members elected IIE Fellows

Dr. Guy Curry, Dr. Abhijit Deshmukh and Dr. Brett Peters from the Department of Industrial and Systems Engineering at Texas A&M University were named Fellows of the Institute of Industrial Engineers at the IIE Annual Research Conference in June.The Fellow Award recognizes outstanding leaders in the profession who have made significant, nationally recognized contributions to industrial engineering.Dr. Guy CurryCurry received his Ph.D. from the University of Arkansas and joined the Texas A&M University faculty in 1970. He won his first teaching award in 1972 and has continued since then to receive awards for his teaching excellence. In 2006, he received the IIE Albert G. Holzman Distinguished Educator Award, which recognizes significant contributions to the profession through career accomplishments in teaching excellence, research, publication, extension, innovation, and administration. Since 2008 Curry has been awarded both the college-level and university-level distinguished teaching awards by the Texas A&M Association of Former Students.Dr. Abhijit DeshmukhAfter earning a Ph.D. at Purdue, Deshmukh served on the faculties at the State University of New York-Stony Brook, Florida State University and the University of Massachusetts. In addition he served as program director for Manufacturing Enterprise Systems at the National Science Foundation before coming to Texas A&M in 2008. He has received several awards in recognition of his professional accomplishments, including the Outstanding Young Manufacturing Engineer from the Society of Manufacturing Engineers and the Teetor Educational Award from the Society of Automotive Engineers. He was named a Lilly Teaching Fellow at the University of Massachusetts.  Dr. Brett PetersPeters, who currently serves as department head, received his Ph.D. from the Georgia Institute of Technology in 1992. He came to Texas A&M as an assistant professor that same year and established himself as a leading researcher in the field of material handling and plant layout. He received the IIE Student Award for Excellence in 1987, was named an Outstanding Young Manufacturing Engineer by the Society of Manufacturing Engineers in 2001, and was inducted into the Arkansas Academy in Industrial Engineering in 2005. He has served as president of the College-Industry Council on Material Handling Education.