NSF awards graduate fellowships to Texas A&M engineering students

The National Science Foundation has awarded three-year graduate fellowships to several Texas A&M University engineering students.Students annually receive up to $10,500 for tuition and fees to the school of their choice, plus a $30,000 stipend for living expenses. The NSF Graduate Fellowships are very competitive; only 2,000 are given from a pool of more than 12,000 applications.Fellowship recipients who received their undergraduate degrees from Texas A&M and will continue their graduate degrees at Texas A&M are Michelle Lee Bernhardt, civil engineering; Michael Keith Hearon, biomedical engineering; Natasha Christina Lagoudas, aerospace engineering; and Justin Wayne Wilkerson, aerospace engineering.Aggies receiving honorable mentions and who plan to pursue graduate engineering studies at Texas A&M are Brian Michael Cummins, biomedical engineering; Michael Brooks Fallon, civil engineering; Matthew Wade Harris, aerospace engineering; Derek Wade Johnson, electrical engineering; Jason Matthew Knight, electrical engineering; Alexander Morgan Pankonien, aerospace engineering; and Rachel Schafer, biomedical engineering.Additionally, three Texas A&M Engineering graduates who will pursue graduate degrees elsewhere also received fellowships: Mark Austin Deimund, chemical engineering; Autumn Noel Kidwell, ocean engineering; and Jonathan Aaron Pennington, environmental engineering.Aggie graduates and honorable mention recipients who will pursue graduate studies elsewhere are Saniya Ali, biomedical engineering; Carissa Joy Ball, biomedical engineering; Alexander Bleakie, mechanical engineering; Jeremy Michael Gernand, engineering; Scott Parker Kolodziej, chemical engineering; Andrew Lin, electrical engineering; Arpan Satsangi, biomedical engineering; Thomas Stephen Wilems, biomedical engineering; and Mei Zhong Zhan, bioengineering.Finally, six students from other universities received NSF fellowships and will pursue graduate engineering studies at Texas A&M: Bradley Christopher Appel, nuclear engineering; Mary Beth Browning, biomedical engineering; John Benjamin Coles, industrial engineering; Brittany Anne Duncan, computer science and engineering; Ryan Wesley Sinnet, mechanical engineering; and James Winkler, chemical engineering.And four students from other undergraduate institutions received honorable mentions to pursue graduate studies at Texas A&M: John Paul Hanson, nuclear engineering; Erin Ann Rooney, ocean engineering; Meagan Alyssa Saldua, biomedical engineering; and Andrew Vernon Schaeperkoetter, aerospace engineering.The fellowships provide three years of support for graduate study leading to research-based master's or doctoral degrees and is intended for students who are in the early stages of their graduate study.Recipients benefit from a three-year annual stipend of $30,000 along with a $10,500 cost-of-education allowance for tuition and fees, a one-time $1,000 international travel allowance and the freedom to conduct their own research at any accredited U.S. or foreign institution of graduate education.Sponsored by NSF, the Graduate Research Fellowship Program (GRFP) is the country's oldest graduate fellowship program that directly supports graduate students in various Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM) fields.NSF Fellows are anticipated to become knowledge experts who can contribute significantly to research, teaching and innovations in science and engineering.Since 1952, NSF has funded 46,000 Graduate Research Fellowships out of more than 500,000 applicants. More than 20 of them have become Nobel laureates.