Murphy to receive international award for work in rescue engineering

Dr. Robin MurphyDr. Robin Murphy, director of the Center for Robot Assisted Search and Rescue (CRASAR) and Raytheon Professor in the Department of Computer Science and Engineering at Texas A&M University, has been selected to receive the Motohiro Kisoi Award from the International Rescue System Institute (IRS).This is the first time the award has been presented to a researcher from outside of Japan. Murphy was chosen for her outstanding academic contributions in establishing a new research field in rescue engineering. She will be honored and present a talk at the at Kobe International Congress Center Jan. 15, 2010, in Kobe.Murphy, who joined the faculty at A&M in 2008, is best known for her work with search and rescue robots, which have been used in the rubble of the World Trade Center following the attacks on Sept. 11, 2001, as well as in mud slides, caved-in mines and collapsed buildings around the world.Earlier this year, she was named an Alpha Geek by Wired magazine, and in 2008, she was awarded the Al Aube Outstanding Contributor award by the AUVSI Foundation, the first time the award has been given to an academic. She was profiled in the June 14, 2004, issue of TIME magazine as an innovator in artificial intelligence.Murphy received a B.M.E. in mechanical engineering, and M.S. and Ph.D. degrees in computer science from Georgia Tech, where she was a Rockwell International Doctoral Fellow. Her basic research focuses on artificial intelligence and human-robot interaction for unmanned systems. These efforts are/have been funded by DoE (RIM), DARPA, ONR, NASA, NSF and industry, and have led to more than 100 publications in the field, including the textbook Introduction to AI Robotics (MIT Press).CRASAR serves as a robotics equivalent of tornado storm chasers, developing and providing technology to responders all over the world, with team members from all over the country. The Department of Computer Science and Engineering at Texas A&M has an internationally recognized faculty, including Dr. Bjarne Stroustrup, inventor of the C++ language, and more than 900 undergraduate and graduate students.Written by Lesley Kriewald,