Graduate Invitational

Graduate Invitational (GI) is a campus visitation event for highly qualified U.S. citizens and permanent residents who plan to matriculate in an engineering PhD, and in some cases MS, program in the subsequent fall semester. The event is held on campus at Texas A&M University in College Station, Texas. Attendees have the opportunity to:

  • Interact with faculty in their area of interest
  • Tour the Texas A&M campus and engineering research laboratories and facilities
  • Visit with currently enrolled graduate students

Invitation

There is no separate application for this event. All highly-qualified domestic students who submitted a complete TAMU engineering PhD (and some MS) application for the subsequent fall semester are considered for review by the respective department.

Travel and Housing Accommodations

Arrangements for travel and housing accommodations are provided to select students and determined by the respective department.

For 2017, the primary hotel for attendees is the Calvary Court. All reservations are coordinated by the College of Engineering through the department point of contact; no separate booking is needed. Check-in is at 3pm - midnight and check-out at 12-noon or earlier. Shuttle service to/from the Calvary Court and Easterwood airport is available. For pick up from the airport, visitors should contact the Calvary Court (979-485-5586) upon arrival to Easterwood Airport. For departure, visitors should inform the Calvary Court front desk in advance of their departure.

Schedule At-A-Glance

Attendees will receive the final itinerary that is unique to their respective department. Contact your department for more information.

Thursday, March 8th
Friday, March 9th
Saturday, March 10th

Arrivals

Hotel Check-In

Example department activities:
Campus tour
Tour of town
Dinner with departments

8am - 9am
Welcome breakfast hosted by College of Engineering

9:15am
Shuttles depart for campus

9:30am
Department visits - itineraries provided by host department
Example department activities:
Lunch with departments
Faculty/student meetings
Facilities tours
Dinner

Departures (night)

Hotel Check-Out

Departures

Department Contacts

Department Name Email Address Phone
Engineering Academic and Student Affairs
College of Engineering
Juan Rodriguez
Jennifer Veracruz
j.rodriguez@tamu.edu
jveracruz@tamu.edu
979-458-8448
979-845-7282
Aerospace Gaile Rowe lgrowe@tamu.edu 979-845-5520
Biological & Agricultural Stormy Kretzschmar stoking@tamu.edu 979-845-6658
Biomedical Maria Lyons mlyons@tamu.edu 979-845-6658
Chemical Ashley Stokes stokes992@tamu.edu 979-845-3364
Civil Laura Byrd
Chris Grunkenmeyer
lbyrd@civil.tamu.edu
cgrunk@civil.tamu.edu
979-845-2498
979-845-2498
Computer Science and Engineering Karrie Borquin karrie@cse.tamu.edu 979-845-4087
Electrical and Computer Engineering Katie Bryan
Melissa Sheldon
k.bryan@tamu.edu
tammy@ece.tamu.edu
979-845-7467
979-845-7467
Engineering Technology & Industrial Distribution Mark Lorenzo mark.lorenzo@tamu.edu 979-458-3145
Industrial Erin Roady erinroady@tamu.edu 979-845-5536
Interdisciplinary Tandilyn Morrel tmorrel@tamu.edu 979-845-6883
Materials Science Jules Henry jules.henry@tamu.edu 979-862-1089
Mechanical Rebecca Simon
Sandra Havens
rebeccasimon@tamu.edu
shavens@tamu.edu
979-458-9196
979-458-3315
Nuclear Robb Jenson robb.jenson@tamu.edu 979-458-2072
Ocean Caleb Mullens mullberries89@tamu.edu 979-845-5480
Petroleum Eleanor Schuler e-schuler@tamu.edu 979-845-8402